I had left England, the place where I was born and raised, to embark on a new adventure, a new life. A life that was somewhat unknown, but brimming with hope and possibility.  I was on my way to Ecuador to study for the CELTA certificate that would enable me to teach English as a second or foreign language anywhere in the world.  I had planned and God had provided.  He also had plans that He had yet to share with me.  Different plans to the ones that had shaped my packing, shaped my goodbyes and shaped the anxiety and sense of adventure I felt the day I left England.

I am a planner and indeed I overlooked the fact that the One I serve is also a planner and in His planning for me He had decided a certificate in teaching English was to add to my skill set, but it wasn’t to play a major role (not yet anyway).  I left England for Ecuador in May 2014, fast forward 4 months and I found myself in Panama enrolled and ready, in a practical sense but not quite heart ready, for the Discipleship Training School (DTS) with Youth With A Mission (YWAM).

After 5 months of learning about God, tuning my heart and ears to His voice, shedding His light upon my good and my ugly, stepping outside of my comfort zone whilst sharing His love for others and learning how to be a blessing, I ultimately came to the truth that I am “rooted and grounded in love” (Ephesians 3:17).  I cannot fully comprehend nor fully explain His love, but I know that I know that I know of the realness, the richness and the ability His love has to transform and mend even the hardest and shattered of hearts.

So I begin again, a new creature in Christ with a new purpose tailored just for me by the one who ‘knit me together in my mother’s womb…’ (Psalm 139:13).

KiteFlying

